Elma City Council & City Boards

The City of Elma, City Hall and City Clerk's office is located in the Elma Community Complex building at 319 Oak Street.  The entrance door is on the East side of the building, then take the first hallway on the left; first door on the left.

The City Clerk's office hours are as follows:

  • Monday through Friday  8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. & 12:30-3:30 p.m.

The City of Elma supports Fair Housing practices.  Call 641-393-2543 if you have any Fair Housing concerns.

Current City Officials

  • Mayor - Randy Thoren
  • Mayor Pro-Tem - Emily Ptacek
  • City Clerk - Shannon Gebel
  • Public Works Director - Brian Sigler

Council Members:                             

Andrew Casler (on Water/Sewer, Yard Waste/Landfill/Garbage committees)

Myron Head (on Street/Storm Drainage, Crime/Weeds/Civil Defense, Yard Waste/Landfill/Garbage committees)

Emily Ptacek (on Finance/Insurance, School Building committees)

Laura Schroeder (on Finance/Insurance, School Building, Streets/Storm Drainage committees)

Josh Smith (on Water/Sewer, Crimes/Weeds/Civil Defense committees)


City of Elma

  • City Clerk - Shannon Gebel
  • 319 Oak Street, Elma, IA 50628
  • PO Box 497 Elma, IA 50628
  • 641-393-2543
  • Email the City
Services, Utilities

City Council

City Council meetings are now officially being held at the community room in the Elma Community Complex building on the 2nd Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. and are open to the public.